Law.com Blog Network

About The Bloggers

Blogroll

Friday's Three Burning Legal Questions

Here are today's three burning legal questions, along with the answers provided by the blogosphere.

1) Question: I'm a policeman. I arrested a woman today after she punched and pepper-sprayed employees at a grocery store who caught her shoplifting. She also spat on one of the workers and claimed she had HIV. When I was arresting her she asked me to write up my report in a way that would be "more interesting so that her arrest would make the police blotter" in our local newspaper. I'm not the greatest writer -- how do I do that?

Answer: Just stick to the facts in this case and you will surely make the police blotter! (Online Athens, Accused shoplifter wanted story in newspaper)

2) Question: I am selling my home, which is vacant as I have already moved out. My real estate agent is encouraging me to allow a "staging family" to move in while the house is for sale so that it feels "less empty." Good idea?

Answer: Perhaps, but keep in mind that sometimes "staging families" will bring their dog, park their truck on the yard, erect a 10-foot tall crucifix on the lawn, refuse to allow the owner to come onto the property, and refuse to be evicted until all appeals have been exhausted. So maybe just leave it empty? (Consumerist, Woman Hires Family To Liven Up For-Sale Home, Now She Can't Enter Her Own Property)

3) Question: I say that the strip club that refuses to allow me to bring my kitten in to the club with me is breaking the law. However, the police who responded to my 911 call about this say that I am breaking the law by calling 911 about the strip club not allowing me to bring in my kitten. Who is right?

Answer: The police are correct here. Your 911 call constitutes the crime of "Misuse of the 911 System." And if you don't wise up/sober up, you may also be charged with Disorderly Intoxication, Trespassing After Warning and Resisting Arrest without Violence, plus have your kitten taken away by Animal Control. (MySuncoast, Deputies: Man calls 911 after denied entry to strip club with kitten)

Posted by Bruce Carton on June 8, 2012 at 01:54 PM | Permalink | Comments (0)

Comments

 
 
 
About ALM  |  About Law.com  |  Customer Support  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms & Conditions